Pre-Holiday Restart

After a minor hardware issue with our service provider was resolved yesterday, there have been a few reports this morning of access issues regarding login to select systems. While a quick reboot brought those systems back online, we also initiated a full restart just to make sure there are no remaining access issues with any other systems.

If you experience any difficulty using Single Sign-On, please try reloading/refreshing your browser window to make sure you have the most recent information.

Box Sync Folder Deletion Behavior Change

In an effort to make the Box Sync experience more intuitive, a change was made to Box Sync’s behavior. Specifically, Box Sync will change its behavior with deleted files in personal and collaborative folders. Clients using Box Sync will be presented with the following warning when application has been updated:

Box Sync Update Notice

Prior to this update, if you deleted a folder synced to your computer from Box it would unsync that folder on your computer and on the web application as well. As of the November 18, 2014 update, all synced folders that are deleted from your computer will have new behaviors depending on the folder type:

  • Personal Folder (No collaborators) – If you delete a synced personal folder locally, that folder is also deleted on Box. There will be no confirmation warning given for this action.
  • Collaborative Folder – If you delete a collaborative folder, you will receive a warning message that the folder will also be deleted for all collaborators:

Box Sync Deletion Confirmation

You can choose to confirm the deletion, or to only unsync the folder from the current computer.

If you accidentally delete a folder, the person who deleted the folder or the folder owner can recover the folder. For more information on this process, see: My files are Gone! What do I do?

Please visit the Box Help Center to learn more about this change.

Security Updates for iOS

When iOS 8 (Apple’s latest operating system for iPhones and iPads) was released, we initially recommended those using iPhone 4S or iPad 2 devices avoid updating as the performance on these devices suffered greatly. However, Apple has released iOS 8.1.1 which addresses these performance issues, and includes necessary security updates and bug fixes.

The IT Department tested iOS 8.1.1 on iPhone 4S and iPad 2 devices last week, and is confident in its stability and performance, and we now recommend installing it to get access to the bug fixes and security updates that are provided.

How do I update to iOS 8?
If you are currently running iOS 7, you have two options:

Over the Air:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Go to General.
  3. Select Software Update.
  4. The device should prompt you to make sure you are connected to a power source and a wifi network.
  5. You can then proceed with the update.
Via iTunes:

  1. Connect your iOS device to your Windows or Apple computer.
  2. Launch iTunes. (you may need to update to version 11.4)
  3. After it loads, iTunes should automatically prompt you to update your device. If not, select your device in the upper right.
  4. Select Check for Updates and follow the directions on the screen to complete the update.

If you need assistance updating, please contact the IT Help Desk.

New Services Available: Canvas LMS and CrashPlan

CrashPlan PROe and Canvas LMS

Canvas Learning Management System

The Canvas Learning Management System (LMS) is a modern web application hosted off-campus. Instructure’s Canvas will be completely replacing UCMCROPS for courses in the near future, but it is now available for any interested instructors as an alternative to UCMCROPS.
Read More…

CrashPlan PROe for Faculty and Staff

CrashPlan is a silent computer backup application, protecting your files and folders in real-time. If your backup is interrupted, or you put your computer to sleep, CrashPlan automatically resumes when your computer becomes available again. You can customize the back-up times and intervals, or allow it to run continuously. This service is being offered FREE to UC Merced Faculty and Staff.
Read More…

Updates On New Services

Colleagues,

The UCM IT Network team has completed preparations and configurations to cutover to a 10G network link to the Internet. This change will occur between 1:00am – 5:00am on Saturday, 25 October and we expect minimal network downtime of approximately 5 to 10 minutes. Should we encounter any unexpected complications, we are poised to back-into our current configuration of a 2 GB connection.

As always, feel free to contact me directly at any time.

Ann Kovalchick
Associate Vice Chancellor and CIO